Skip to main content

Selecting the Doctoral Committee

You must adhere to the following guidelines in selecting faculty to serve on your doctoral committee:

  • Every Biological Sciences student doctoral committee must include only regular and adjunct UCSD faculty and have at least 5 members.
  • Every doctoral committee must have at least 1 non-Division of Biological Sciences faculty member who has tenure at UCSD.
  • Every doctoral committee will have at least 3 Division of Biological Sciences faculty (including Division of Biological Sciences adjunct faculty).
  • If a doctoral committee contains 4 Biological Sciences faculty members, at least 2 Division of Biological Sciences sections must be represented. For students in the EBE track, 4 committee members can be from the EBE section as long as they represent at least 2 different research specialties.
  • A doctoral committee may include no more than 1 adjunct faculty unless the student's Chair is from the Salk Institute. In those cases, the committee can have at most 2 adjunct members. 

Roles and responsibilities of each member of the Doctoral Committee can be found on our Academic Advising page.  Please review this page to fully understand what each member of the Doctoral Committee provides to their student trainees.