Skip to main content

Faculty Advisors for Biology Majors 2023-24

Faculty advisors are subject-matter experts within their academic discipline (divided by major below). They can offer general guidance on areas such as individual academic and professional goals, or relevance of course content to a particular interest area within the major. For those students who are pursuing new areas of inquiry and study, faculty advisors act as mentors. In this role they encourage and guide students to participate in unique opportunities and can suggest coursework that will enrich the undergraduate experience. For those seeking general career advice related to academic interests, educational goals, and professional ambitions, please reach out to your faculty advisor.

If you have questions related to your major requirements, course prerequisites, divisional programs, or divisional/university policies, please contact a staff advisor within Student Advising Services.

Category Advisor Contact
Associate Dean of Education Jim Wilhelm jwilhelm@ucsd.edu
2123A Pacific Hall
Bioinformatics Barry Grant bjgrant@ucsd.edu
4070A York Hall
Ecology, Behavior & Evolution Eric Allen eallen@ucsd.edu
4170 Hubbs Hall (SIO)
General Biology Ashley Juavinett ajuavinette@ucsd.edu
4070C York Hall
Human Biology Heidi Cook-Andersen hcookandersen@ucsd.edu
4002 Stem Cell Bldg/SCRM
Microbiology Eric Allen eallen@ucsd.edu
4170 Hubbs Hall (SIO)
Molecular and Cell Biology Yunde Zhao y3zhao@ucsd.edu
5165 Muir Biology Bldg
Neurobiology Ashley Juavinett ajuavinett@ucsd.edu
4070C York Hall
Honors Thesis Chair Randolph Hampton rhampton@ucsd.edu
2111 Pacific Hall
Honors Thesis Advisor Lin Chao lchao@ucsd.edu
3155 Muir Biology Bldg
Honors Thesis Advisor Matthew Lovett-Barron malovettbarron@ucsd.edu
6103 Tata Hall
Honors Thesis Advisor Milton Saier msaier@ucsd.edu
4254 Biology Bldg