Skip to main content

Professor Maarten Chrispeels Named an inaugural Fellow of the American Society of Plant Biologists

September 10, 2007

By Kim McDonald

Maarten Chrispeels
Maarten Chrispeels

Professor Maarten Chrispeels has been named an inaugural Fellow of the American Society of Plant Biologists. The award was bestowed for the first time on Chrispeels and 52 other members of the society this year in recognition of their distinguished and long-term contributions to plant biology and service to the society in areas that include research, education, mentoring, outreach and professional and public service.

No more than 0.2% of the current membership may become recipients of the Fellow of ASPB honor each year. Founded in 1924, ASPB (formerly known as the American Society of Plant Physiologists) is headquartered in Rockville, Maryland. This professional society has a membership of approximately 5,000 plant scientists from the United States and more than 50 other nations. ASPB publishes two of the most widely cited plant science journals in the world, Plant Cell and Plant Physiology.