Skip to main content

Contact Information

Below is a list of general contacts for major business units within the School. Details about specific inquiries may be found on the unit's webpage.

Student and Instructional Services

Unit Contact
Undergraduate General/Non-UCSD students: 858-534-0557 biousis@ucsd.edu Pacific Hall 1128
UCSD students: Virtual Advising Center (VAC)
Graduate PhD Program: biogradprog@ucsd.edu
PhD Admissions: biophdadmissions@ucsd.edu
Prospective & Current MS students: Virtual Advising Center (VAC)
Instructional Labs Lab Course Safety (for students and Instructional Assistants): biologysafetytraining@ucsd.edu
General: biougl@ucsd.edu
Student Success and Engagement General: biostudentsuccess@ucsd.edu

Executive Leadership

Unit Staff Phone Email
Assistant Dean Katherine Emmett 858-534-8202 kemmett@ucsd.edu
Chief Operations Officer Patty Camacho 858-822-4541 pcamacho@ucsd.edu
Chief Financial Officer Albin Soares 858-534-8439 asoares@ucsd.edu
Sr. Director, Educational Strategy Dana Brehm 858-534-0181 dbrehm@ucsd.edu

Business Services

Unit Contact
Academic Personnel &
Staff Human Resources
Laura Ta, Academic and Staff Human Resources Manager
858-534-6387 aphr@biology.ucsd.edu
Accounting & Financial Services Darren Blair, Accounting and Financial Services Manager
d2blair@ucsd.edu
Business Analytics & Financial Reporting Lindsay Root, Business Analytics & Financial Reporting Supervisor
lcroot@ucsd.edu
Computer Services Computer and Networking Help
858-534-6355 help@biology.ucsd.edu
Physical Access to Biology Buildings
wams@biology.ucsd.edu
School Website Requests
biowebgroup@biology.ucsd.edu
Dean's Office Reception, 858-822-4622
Facilities and Shops Trevor Thiessen, Facilities and Shops Manager
858-534-2449 bioshophelp@ucsd.edu
Faculty Assistants Alex Tea, Dean's Executive Assistant and Administrative Support Supervisor
858-534-4281 altea@ucsd.edu
Safety Assistance Ashley Miller, Safety Officer
858-333-9791 lam023@ucsd.edu
Sponsored Projects Administration
Pre-Award
Post-Award
Shannon Wright, Pre-Award Contracts & Grants Manager
858-525-5704 s4wright@ucsd.edu
Michelle George, Post-Award Contracts & Grants Manager
858-534-0542 m2george@ucsd.edu

Directories

Need to find someone by name, title or group? Search through one of our directories.

Help & Support

Should any member of our community experience an issue, they should feel comfortable seeking help and guidance in a confidential way. If needed, members have options to get help and support through campus resources.