Skip to main content

Academic Departments

The School of Biological Sciences programs at UC San Diego cover a wide spectrum of research interests, including biochemistry and biophysics; cell biology and developmental biology; ecology, behavior, and evolution; genetics and molecular biology; immunology, virology, and cancer biology; neurobiology; and plant molecular biology.

Within the school, these subdisciplines are organized under four Academic Departments.

Each of the departments has a Chair who reports to the Dean, and all share a centralized administrative support structure: IT, fiscal and human resources as well as the undergraduate and graduate programs which are administered at the School level.

Learn more about UC San Diego's School of Biological Sciences and its nationally ranked programs at our School Factsheet page.