Skip to main content

Two Biology Professors Honored with Faculty Excellence Awards

March 22, 2012

By Kim McDonald

Professor William Kristan
Prof. William Kristan

William Kristan, professor of neurobiology, and James Kadonaga, professor of molecular biology, will receive 2012 Chancellor’s Associates Faculty Excellence Awards at a ceremony on March 29. The annual event honors UC San Diego faculty as a whole, while highlighting the important contributions of the university’s most exemplary teachers and researchers. Chancellor’s Associates, a program for donors who give an annual leadership gift of $2,500 or more to the university, will recognize the outstanding accomplishments of university faculty members with a citation and $2,500 award.

Professor James Kadonaga
Prof. James Kadonaga

Kristan will be honored with an award for excellence in graduate teaching, while Kadonaga will be honored for excellence in research in science and engineering. Award candidates are nominated by their academic peers, with final selection by a committee comprising Chancellor’s Associates donors. Criteria for selection are based on faculty member achievements, reputation and impact on students and the academic community. Since 1974, UC San Diego has recognized more than 100 extraordinary faculty members with Chancellor’s Associates Faculty Excellence Awards. More on the ceremony and the recipients.