Skip to main content

UCSD Professors In Natural Sciences Honored for Achievements

JUNE 22, 2000
Media Contact: Jan Jennings (858) 822-1684
or Kim McDonald (858) 534-7572

Seven professors in the natural sciences at the University of California, San Diego are being recognized for their achievements. They are Terence T.-L. Hwa, Roger Y. Tsien, Edward A. Dennis, Yuki Goda, Carl E. McIlwain, Kim Baldridge and Ivan K. Schuller.

Physics professor Hwa is the recipient of a 2000 Innovation Award in Functional Genomics from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund. The goal of this new award program of the North Carolina-based Burroughs Wellcome Fund is to accelerate integration of the vast mount of genetic sequence and expression data being generated in the world's laboratories into functional and clinically relevant information that will yield insights into mechanisms of human disease.

Hwa is being awarded a $200,000 grant over a three-year period to continue his research on gene expression profiles based on statistical significance of clustering analysis. Hwa received a bachelor's degree in physics, biology and electrical engineering from Stanford University and a master's degree and Ph.D. in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has served on the UCSD faculty since 1995.

Tsien, a professor of chemistry, biochemistry and pharmacology, has received the Herbert A. Sober Lectureship Award from the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. The lectureship recognizes outstanding contributions to biochemical and molecular biological research, with particular emphasis on development of methods and techniques to aid in research.

Tsien presented a lecture at the Society's annual meeting held earlier this month in Boston, where he received his award. He holds a bachelor's degree in chemistry and physics from Harvard University and a Ph.D. in physiology from the University of Cambridge in England. He has been on the UCSD faculty since 1989.

Chemistry and biochemistry professor Dennis, who is also chair of the department, is the recipient of the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Avanti Award. The award recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids.

Dennis received his award at the Society's annual meeting in Boston where he presented a lecture. He earned a bachelor's degree from Yale University, master's and Ph.D. degrees from Harvard University, and has been on the UCSD faculty since 1970.

Goda, an assistant professor of biology, has been awarded two fellowships in support of her studies of the molecular mechanisms of signaling in the nervous system.

Goda will receive $50,000 each year for three years from the Rita Allen Foundation which supports scientists carrying out promising investigations of cerebral palsy and multiple sclerosis. She also will receive $40,000 each year for three years from the Esther A. and Joseph Klingenstein Foundation that supports work that may lead to a better understanding of epilepsy.

Goda received a bachelor's degree in biochemistry and chemistry from the University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada, a Ph.D. in biochemistry from Stanford University, and has been with the UCSD Division of Biology since 1997.

Research physics professor McIlwain has been awarded the Hannes Alfvén Medal 2000 by the European Geophysical Society for the study of the Earth and planetary sciences. The award was established to honor the scientific achievements of Hannes Alfvén and to recognize in its recipients outstanding scientific contributions toward the understanding of plasma processes in the solar system and other cosmical plasma environments.

McIlwain received a bachelor's degree from North Texas College and a master's degree and Ph.D. in physics from the State University of Iowa. He has been on the UCSD faculty since 1962.

Baldridge, an associate adjunct professor of chemistry, is the winner of the 2000 Agnes Fay Morgan Award given by the Iota Sigma Pi Honor Society for outstanding research achievement by a female chemist under the age of 40. It is awarded over all disciplines of chemistry and biochemistry.

Baldridge received her bachelor's degree in mathematics and chemistry from Minot State University in North Dakota and a master's in mathematics and a Ph.D. in theoretical chemistry from North Dakota State University. She joined the UCSD faculty in 1991.

Physics professor Schuller has been elected the recipient of a Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientists given by Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, a foundation based in Bonn, Germany. The foundation was established to foster scientific and cultural contacts between Germany and other countries and the Humboldt Research Award recognizes individual accomplishments in research and teaching.

In addition to receiving the award and a monetary grant, Schuller will give lectures and collaborate in research with colleagues in Germany at yet-to-be-determined dates over the next five years.

Schuller received his bachelor's degree in mathematics from the University of Chile and his master's and Ph.D. degrees from Northwestern University. He has been a professor at UCSD since 1987.