Skip to main content

Environment, Health, and Safety

Index of Safety Contacts for the Division

Biosafety

Seth Mullen , Biosafety Officer

(858) 53 4-0353 | smullen@ucsd.edu
Central Research Services Facility, Room 241 MC#: 0090

Sheryl Major, High Containment Officer

(858) 82 2-2493 | smajor@ucsd.edu
Central Research Services Facility, Room 241 MC#: 0090

Chemical Safety

Doug Harvey, Chemical Hygiene Officer

(858) 822-1579 | daharvey@ucsd.edu
Central Research Services Facility, Room 233 MC#: 0900

Controlled Substances

Wendy Scott, Controlled Substances Program Manager

(858) 534-1362 | wscott@ucsd.edu
Central Research Services Facility, Room 240 MC#: 0090

Laser Safety

Trung Le, Laser Safety Officer and Health Physicist

(858) 822-2850 | t16le@ucsd.edu
Pepper Canyon Hall, Room 468 MC#: 0091

Personal Protective Equipment Program

Alexis Rimer, PPE Program Coordinator

(858) 534-2698 | arimerklak@ucsd.edu
University Center 401, Room 107 MC#: 0091

PPE Fitting Room Hours
Monday - Friday, 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Radiation Safety

Bonner Hall, Muir and Pacific Hall 

David Skydel, Health Physicist

(858) 822-5526 | dskydel@ucsd.edu
Pepper Canyon Hall, Room 419 MC#: 0091

AP&M, CNCB, NSB and York Hall

Kayla Evans, Health Physicist  

(858) 822-0891 | k4evans@ucsd.edu
Pepper Canyon Hall, Room 420 MC#: 0091

Research Assistance Program (Lab Audits)

Ken Jacoby, Research Assistance Specialist

(858) 534-4172 | kjacoby@ucsd.edu
Central Research Services Facility, Room 241 MC#: 0090

Waste Management

Ray (Ivan) Montano, Principal Technician

O: (858) 534-6118 | C: (858) 295-9391 | rimontano@ucsd.edu
Pepper Canyon Hall, Room 471 MC#: 0089

Mark Gonzalez, Hazardous Materials Operations Supervisor

(858) 822-2737 | msg002@ucsd.edu
Campus Services Center, Building F MC#: 0958

Agustin Palos, Hazardous Materials Operations Supervisor

(858) 534-9759 | apalos@ucsd.edu
Campus Services Center, Building F MC#: 0958

Questions or concerns? Contact your Division Safety Officer at safetyofficer@biology.ucsd.edu or (858) 333-9791.