Skip to main content

Faculty Advisors for Biology Majors 2021-22

Faculty advisors are subject-matter experts within their academic discipline (divided by major below). They can offer general guidance on areas such as individual academic and professional goals, or relevance of course content to a particular interest area within the major. For those students who are pursuing new areas of inquiry and study, faculty advisors act as mentors. In this role they encourage and guide students to participate in unique opportunities and can suggest coursework that will enrich the undergraduate experience. For those seeking general career advice related to academic interests, educational goals, and professional ambitions, please reach out to your faculty advisor.

If you have questions related to your major requirements, course prerequisites, divisional programs, or divisional/university policies, please contact a staff advisor within Student Advising Services.

Category Advisor Contact
Director of Undergraduate Education Jim Wilhelm jwilhelm@ucsd.edu
2123A Pacific Hall
Biochemistry/Cell Biology Amy Kiger akiger@ucsd.edu
6109 Natural Sciences Bldg.
Bioinformatics Barry Grant bjgrant@ucsd.edu
4070A York Hall
Ecology, Behavior & Evolution Joshua Kohn jkohn@ucsd.edu
1113 Muir Biology Bldg.
General Biology Eric Allen eallen@ucsd.edu
4170 Hubbs Hall (SIO)
General Biology Keefe Reuther kdreuther@ucsd.edu
1145D H&SS
Human Biology Heidi Cook-Andersen hcookandersen@ucsd.edu
4002 Stem Cell Bldg/SCRM
Microbiology Eric Allen eallen@ucsd.edu
4170 Hubbs Hall (SIO)
Molecular Biology Cornelis (Kees) Murre cmurre@ucsd.edu
5113 NSB
Molecular and Cell Biology Amy Kiger akiger@ucsd.edu
6109 Natural Sciences Bldg.
Neurobiology Ashley Juavinett ajuavinett@ucsd.edu
4070C York Hall
Physiology/Neuroscience Stefan Leutgeb sleutgeb@ucsd.edu
3225A Pacific Hall
Honors Thesis Chair Eric Schmelz eschmelz@ucsd.edu
3254 Biology Bldg
Honors Thesis Advisor David Holway dholway@ucsd.edu
1105 Biology Bldg
Honors Thesis Advisor Matthew Lovett-Barron malovettbarron@ucsd.edu
6103 Tata Hall
Honors Thesis Advisor Milton Saier msaier@ucsd.edu
4254 Biology Bldg.