Faculty Advisors for Biology Majors 2017-18

Faculty advisors are subject-matter experts within their academic discipline (divided by major below). They can offer general guidance on areas such as individual academic and professional goals, or relevance of course content to a particular interest area within the major. For those students who are pursuing new areas of inquiry and study, faculty advisors act as mentors. In this role they encourage and guide students to participate in unique opportunities and can suggest coursework that will enrich the undergraduate experience. For those seeking general career advice related to academic interests, educational goals, and professional ambitions, please reach out to your faculty advisor.

If you have questions related to your major requirements, course prerequisites, divisional programs, or divisional/university policies, please contact a staff advisor within Student Advising Services.

Category Advisor Contact
Director of Undergraduate Education Laurie Smith (858) 822-2531
lgsmith@ucsd.edu
5135 Muir Biology Bldg.
Biochemistry/Cell Biology Julian Schroeder 858-534-7759
jischroeder@ucsd.edu
5214 Muir Biology Bldg.
Bioinformatics Eric Allen (858) 534-2570
eallen@ucsd.edu
4170 Hubbs Hall
Ecology, Behavior & Evolution Josh Kohn (858) 534-8233
jkohn@ucsd.edu
1258 Muir Biology Bldg.
General Biology Stefan Leutgeb (858) 246-0824
sleutgeb@ucsd.edu
3225A Pacific Hall
Human Biology Aaron Coleman (858) 534-7608
abcoleman@ucsd.edu
4070A York Hall
Human Biology George Fortes (858) 534-4693
pfortes@ucsd.edu
1314 HSS
Microbiology Eric Allen (858) 534-2570
eallen@ucsd.edu
4170 Hubbs Hall (SIO)
Molecular Biology Cornelis (Kees) Murre (858) 534-8796
cmurre@ucsd.edu
5113 NSB
Physiology/Neuroscience Stefan Leutgeb (858) 246-0824
sleutgeb@ucsd.edu
3225A Pacific Hall
Honors Thesis Chair Nigel Crawford (858) 534-1637
ncrawford@ucsd.edu
3135 Muir Biology
Honors Thesis Advisor Lin Chao (858) 822-2740
lchao@ucsd.edu
2254 Muir Biology Bldg.
Honors Thesis Advisor Pamela Reinagel (858) 534-5776
preinagel@ucsd.edu
3100A Pacific Hall