Skip to main content

Dean's Office

Contact

Reception: 858-822-4622

Hours

M-F, 8:00am - 4:00pm

Location

Natural Sciences Building, Suite 6205
Nearest intersection: Scholars Dr S & La Jolla Shores Drive
Closest Visitor Parking: Meters in Parking Lot P103

Mailing Address

Biological Sciences Dean's Office
9500 Gilman Drive, Mail Code: 0376
La Jolla, CA 92093-0376

Academic Leadership

  • Kit Pogliano
    Kit Pogliano, Ph.D.
    Dean
    kpogliano@ucsd.edu
    858-534-4281
    Request a meeting with Dean Pogliano
  • Andrew Chisholm
    Andrew Chisholm, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean
    adchisholm@ucsd.edu
    858-246-1783
  • James Nieh
    James Nieh, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean
    jnieh@ucsd.edu
    858-246-4914
  • Jim Wilhelm
    Jim Wilhelm, Ph.D.
    Director of Undergraduate Education
    jwilhelm@ucsd.edu
    858-534-9601
  • Gentry Patrick
    Gentry Patrick, Ph.D.
    Director of Mentorship and Diversity
    gpatrick@ucsd.edu
    858-534-4838
    As Director of Mentorship and Diversity, Dr. Patrick drives efforts to bridge the Division and UC San Diego campus to the San Diego community, build collaborative partnerships with key community partners, improve upon diversity among students and faculty on campus, and create a more inclusive environment within the Division of Biological Sciences.

Administrative Staff

  • John C. Bauer
    John C. Bauer
    Assistant Dean and Executive Officer
    jcbauer@ucsd.edu
    858-534-8202
    Responsible for budgetary and fiscal matters, space planning, and analysis and policy development; consults on academic personnel policy, divisional safety program, capital planning, and divisional administrative questions and organizational issues.
  • Melanie Ridenour
    Melanie Ridenour
    Senior Academic Personnel Analyst
    mridenour@ucsd.edu
    858-534-1967
    Serves as academic personnel point of contact for the division; reviews and analyzes all academic personnel actions; provides counsel to the Dean, Section Chairs, faculty and staff regarding current, proposed and new academic personnel policies, procedures and practices.  Melanie also coordinates endowed chair appointments and works on various special projects.
  • Cheyenne Cross
    Cheyenne Cross
    Assistant Academic Personnel Analyst
    ccross@ucsd.edu
    858-246-4847

    Cheyenne assists the Senior Personnel Analyst in the review and analysis of academic personnel actions, and provides support with various special projects .

  • Alex Tea
    Alex Tea
    Dean’s Office Executive Assistant
    altea@ucsd.edu
    858-534-4281
    Alex provides direct support for the Dean, assists the Dean with the operations of the Dean's Office, and coordinates Dean's Office meetings and activities.
  • Victoria Berdin
    Victoria Berdin
    Administrative and Events Coordinator
    vberdin@ucsd.edu
    858-822-4622
    Victoria provides general front desk and administrative support for the Dean’s Office and coordinates a variety of special events and programs.

External Relations / Communications / Development Staff

  • Mario Aguilera
    Mario Aguilera
    Director of Communications
    maguilera@ucsd.edu
    858-822-5148
    Serves as the communications director for Biological Sciences; publicizes research and other features of the division through news releases, articles, interviews, videos, and social media.

  • Christopher Sickels
    Christopher Sickels
    Senior Director of Development
    csickels@ucsd.edu
    858-246-5705
    Chris serves as the lead philanthropic gift officer for Biological Sciences, providing leadership, management, and overall program strategy in planning, coordinating, and implementing fundraising activities for the Dean, Faculty Members, volunteers, and other key collaborative partners for the Division. His mission is to build a comprehensive development program that will engage local, regional, national, and international donors and alumni to actively participate in personalized partnerships that will further the mission and strategic goals of the Division to best serve our students and maximize our broad impact in society.
  • Martha Leon
    Martha Leon
    Director of Development
    mleon@ucsd.edu
    858-761-1058

    Martha serves as a philanthropic gift officer for the Division of Biological Sciences, working closely to develop strong relationships with the campus community and the greater San Diego Area. Martha has a passion for educational fundraising and utilizing exciting strategies to engage and align our supporters' interests to the mission of the Division of Biological Science.

  • Aiza Oliva
    Aiza Oliva
    Development Coordinator
    aoliva@ucsd.edu
    858-246-5305
    Aiza supports fundraising activities, donor relations, stewardship, and events on behalf of the Division.
  • Sarah Turner
    Sarah R. Turner
    Director of Alumni Engagement
    sturner@ucsd.edu
    858-534-5635
    Sarah's goal is to cultivate and sustain meaningful connections with Biological Sciences' valued alumni both locally and regionally through programming, in-person visits, events, and activities. Her mission is to bring value to alumni by providing opportunities for them to re-connect to UC San Diego and the Division of Biological Sciences.