Skip to main content

Academic Personnel and Staff Human Resources

The Academic Personnel and Staff Human Resources unit of the School of Biological Sciences provides the full scope of administrative support for academics and staff in all four sections, the Dean’s Office, and the Business Office. This includes recruitment, appointment, academic review, staff appraisals, labor and employee relations, benefits, leaves, payroll, and timekeeping.

Academics include all ladder rank faculty, teaching professors, adjunct faculty, temporary and continuing lecturers, professional researchers, and postdoctoral scholars.

Staff HR includes administrative and lab staff, student employees, visiting scholars, visiting graduate students, and volunteers.

We assist with...

  • Academic & Staff Recruitment and Appointment
  • Academic Reviews
  • Annual Staff Appraisals
  • Labor & Employee Relations Support
  • Classification & Compensation
  • Benefits
  • Leaves
  • Payroll
  • Reporting
  • Visas

Contact

For specific inquiries, please see our staff contact list below

General Inquiries
aphr@biology.ucsd.edu
Student Hiring Inquiries
biostudenthire@ucsd.edu
Timekeeping Inquiries
biotimekeeping@ucsd.edu

Hours

M-F, 8:00am-4:30pm

Location

Urey Hall, 1700-1800 Suite

Mailing Address

University of California, San Diego
School of Biological Sciences
9500 Gilman Drive,  Mail Code: 0346
La Jolla, CA 92093-0346

Staff

Laura Ta
Academic & Staff HR Manager
lta@ucsd.edu
858-534-6387
AP and HR unit strategic oversight and supervision; primary contact for all faculty appointments, reviews, leaves, payroll, and benefits
Kim Graves
Academic HR Analyst
kjgraves@ucsd.edu
858-534-1963
Adjunct faculty, research scientists, project scientists, specialists, postdoctoral scholars, Unit 18 lecturers, secondary contact for faculty
Kristin Touchet
Academic HR Analyst
ktouchet@ucsd.edu
858-534-0770
Adjunct faculty, project scientists, specialists, postdoctoral scholars, Unit 18 lecturers, lab staff, visiting graduate students, visiting scholars
Candace Poon
Assistant Academic HR Analyst
ckpoon@ucsd.edu
Assist with academic personnel actions
Maryam Nabizadeh
Assistant Academic HR Analyst
mrnabizadeh@ucsd.edu
Assist with academic personnel actions
Becky Amstadt
Staff HR Supervisor
ramstadt@ucsd.edu
858-534-1968
Staff HR unit supervision; primary contact for staff HR inquiries; handles lab and administrative staff, postdoctoral scholars, visiting graduate students, visiting scholars
Barbara Gelsomino
HR Generalist
bgelsomino@ucsd.edu
858-534-3113
Lab staff, postdoctoral scholars, visiting graduate students, visiting scholars
Samantha Crook
HR Generalist
scrook@ucsd.edu
858-534-0634
Lab staff, postdoctoral scholars, visiting graduate students, visiting scholars
Anisa Gouveia
HR Generalist
atgouveia@ucsd.edu
Lab staff, postdoctoral scholars, visiting graduate students, visiting scholars, visiting researcher appointments
Bryenna Jimenez
Payroll/Personnel HR Assistant
bljimenez@ucsd.edu
Timekeeping and payroll, undergraduate students, volunteers, service awards
Nurgess Khurshid
HR Assistant
nakhurshid@ucsd.edu
Assist with human resources actions including staff onboarding and undergraduate students, volunteers

Resources